Android GMail Auto Sync keeps getting disabled

10Sep11

If you’re finding that you’re GMail app on Android keeps getting auto sync disabled I might have the answer to your problem.

Since the very latest version you can download updates to GMail directly from the Android Market; this is to reduce fragmentation by allowing integral Android components to be updated across all phones regardless of Android version.

The problem is that you now have the option to move the app to SD card if you need to save internal memory.

If you do this, GMail won’t immediately be detected after a reboot while the SD card is mounting.  Much like installing widgets to SD causes issues at start up, it seems with GMail auto sync is disabled until you go in and select it after boot (Settings->Accounts and Sync->[Select the Google account]->tick ‘Sync GMail’)

To prevent this problem, just make sure you only install GMail on to the phone’s internal memory and not the SD Card (Settings->Applications->Manage Applications->[select GMail]->Move to Phone).



22 Responses to “Android GMail Auto Sync keeps getting disabled”

  1. Thanks! I’ve had this problem for a few months now and have been looking for a fix. I just moved the app back from the SD card to the phone memory. Hopefully it will remember my “Sync Gmail” settings for my accounts from now on!

  2. 2 Mark Richards

    I started having this problem after I installed Google+. I uninstalled Goolge+. Gmail is installed on the phone but it still fails to sync. I can ‘Sync now’ for Contents and Calendar but Gmail fails. Any other suggestions.

    • 3 Kevin T

      I had the same problem with my Gmail, and I found the solution elsewhere. It’s strange, but what you have to do is go into your Gmail App. Go into Settings -> General Settings -> Choose your account -> under Data Usage choose Gmail sync is Off to activate it again. Just posting this here in case someone else stumbles upon this problem too.

  3. 4 tay

    I have this problem as well. I will enable autosync and then it will automatically disable. I went through the settings, however, gmail is already saved on the phone and not SD

  4. 5 Daniel Nantón

    I have this problem with android 411, on my galaxy S3, can’t find the auto-sync button. What can I do?

  5. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  6. Hello colleagues, its great article regarding educationand entirely explained, keep it up all the time.

  7. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say great blog!

  8. I have a question on Avery Lables. I hase a couple of packs that have to
    do with 15 plus years aged. Never ever utilized any.

  9. Hey there this is kind of of off topic but I was
    wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have
    to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  10. 11 Genie

    Greetings! I’ve been following your web site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic job!

  11. I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!! I absolutely enjoyed every little bit
    of it. I’ve got you saved as a favorite to check out new things you post…

  12. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really realize what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally discuss with my website =). We can have a link trade arrangement among us

  13. Very quickly this site will be famous amid all blog users, due to it’s pleasant articles or reviews

  14. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo
    News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

  15. What’s up to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of
    this website; this blog consists of remarkable and in fact fine
    material in support of visitors.

  16. Hi there to every one, it’s actually a nice for me
    to go to see this site, it contains helpful Information.

  17. Spectacular article. Exactly what your resources?? Always think it is a bit tricky to start out.

  18. This paragraph will assist the internet viewers for building up
    new weblog or even a blog from start to end.

  19. You are a wonderful blogger. I’ve subscribed to your site cos
    I don’t want to miss out on your up coming articles or blog posts

  20. Hey there! I’ve been following your web site for a long
    time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out
    from Austin Texas! Just wanted tto tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  21. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!


Leave a comment