About the rumours of Microsoft buying Nokia…

22May11

I’ve been thinking about the “Nokia handset business being bought out by MS” rumours.  It sounds pretty crazy at first,what would be left of Nokia?

My guess is this scenario:

*Microsoft buy the handset division for unknown billions of dollars in pocket change.

*Nokia are left with their all their  thousands of patents and intellectual property.  Also, a ton of cash in the bank.

*Nokia become a mobile technology R&D firm that licenses out its inventions (they could license to all the major manufacturers.Enemies now become clients all of a sudden)

This reminds me a bit of a little firm in Cambridge called ARM.  They don’t make their own microprocessors but the research and license their own designs that are now in nearly all mobile devices.

Nokia already plough billions in to R&D so this kind of makes sense.



13 Responses to “About the rumours of Microsoft buying Nokia…”

  1. I can’t help be feel saddened by the idea of Microsoft owning Nokia.

    I miss the old days of Nokia! When the N95 ruled the world.

  2. Sweet content man. Can not wait for your upcoming post.

  3. Could I sign up for your posts? I don’t know
    how to do it and don’t want to miss your next ones.

  4. Interesting read. Great ideas, well made.
    I think you’re right there.

  5. Do you have any sort of advice on establishing a blog site?

    I’m seriously bored of working on the same old thing at work and want something
    totally new.

  6. Exactly where did you learn how to write as well as you do??
    I plan to setup my very own web site and start generating an income from this.

  7. This honestly riles me. I wish I could write as passionately as you.

  8. Exactly where did you go to learn how to write so
    well?? I wish to set up my own blog and start making a living from it.

  9. Your are an awesome copy writer. I’ve join the mailing list
    for your site because I’d rather not miss out on your next
    blog posts

  10. Marvelous post. Exactly what your own resources.
    Constantly think it is a bit tough to start out

  11. Yeah, 100 % agree. You could have struck the nail on the head completely

  12. Really dont want tto miss a futuure blog posts..

  13. Precisely how have you set-up your own site?? I actually would like
    to start related to trucks and cars, however , really don’t appreciate how to really get started.

    Any type of assistance is significantly appreciated 😉


Leave a comment