Motorola XOOM rip off

15Apr11

If I’m reading this right,the Xoom WiFi costs £200 MORE than the Asus Transformer.For pretty much exactly the same hardware,if not better on the Asus(the Transformer has an IPS display like iPad but at a higher resolution.  And a working SD slot unlike the Xoom).

When are manufacturers going to stop the greed and realise that if you can’t even compete with Apple on price then you’re in trouble.

5 Responses to “Motorola XOOM rip off”

  1. 1 Dale Wikowsky

    I have wondered for some time now if I am the only one who is genuinely PISSED about my Motorola Xoom being CRIPPLED right out of the box.

    I have sent email after email to Motorola and have spent chat after chat with Motorola trying to get any info on “WHEN” the “UPDATE” will be available that will “ENABLE” my SD SLOT.
    I always get the same reply “The SD CARD will be enabled via OTA Update”.

    I am not an idiot. I am not asking “HOW” it will get enabled. I am asking “WHEN”.
    “WHEN” “WHEN”!!!!!!!!!
    Yes, I feel terribly RIPPED OFF! If the Hackers can Enable the SD SLOT via a new Core, called the TIAMAT Core, then WHY can’t those brillian motorola engineers Enable the SD CARD????
    I hope Motorola goes BANKRUPT!!

    • As I understand it the SD Card situation is in fact Google’s fault.Honeycomb doesn’t support it yet and the Xoom is a pure Android device,no Motorola modifications. The question is,if Acer and Asus have found a way to implement it in the meantime,why don’t Motorola?

  2. 3 Dale Wikowsky

    I have wondered for some time now if I am the only one who is genuinely PISSED about my Motorola Xoom being CRIPPLED right out of the box.

    I have sent email after email to Motorola and have spent chat after chat with Motorola trying to get any info on “WHEN” the “UPDATE” will be available that will “ENABLE” my SD SLOT.
    I always get the same reply “The SD CARD will be enabled via OTA Update”.

    I am not an idiot. I am not asking “HOW” it will get enabled. I am asking “WHEN”.
    “WHEN” “WHEN”!!!!!!!!!
    Yes, I feel terribly RIPPED OFF! If the Hackers can Enable the SD SLOT via a new Core, called the TIAMAT Core, then WHY can’t those brilliant motorola engineers Enable the SD CARD????
    I hope Motorola goes BANKRUPT!!

  3. 4 wisdomx

    Bought one today solely for the microsd slot. Its running 3.1. Slot is still dead. Its going back tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

