Tip: Increase HTC Desire battery life by 1/3 (or more)

22Aug10

I’ve held off posting this because frankly I thought it was bullshit when I heard about it.

I have since tested though and my battery life does seem to have increased by at least a third, so I must at least recommend you try the following:

1) Turn your device ON and charge the device for 8 hours or more

2) Unplug the device and Turn the phone OFF and charge for 1 hour

3) Unplug the device Turn ON wait 2 minutes and Turn OFF and charge for another hour.

I know,I know,this sounds like voodoo but I swear that as a skeptic I thought this was made up also.   So I tested in the hope of proving it wrong.  Except I’m now sitting here after an average day’s use without having to top up the battery.  Apparently you only need to do this trick once and it should stick, but we’ll see.

The original source of the advice is apparently HTC support, who claimed this could as much as double battery time I still think that’s pushing it.

If you have experience of this working (or not),let me know in the comments.

Does this work on any other Li-Ion batteries?

UPDATE: It seems this procedure needs to be run each time and doesn’t carry over to the next charge sadly.  This makes it pretty impractical.

No Responses Yet to “Tip: Increase HTC Desire battery life by 1/3 (or more)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

