New European HTC Desire and Legend Over the Air update

03Jun10

HTC have just announced an OTA update. Once I get to a WiFi hotspot I’ll update my Desire and post with details.

I hope this is DIVX support

http://www.htc.com/europe/support.aspx

Update 1: On the train still but I did a check for update on my device. The release note, if you can call it that, just says “HTC Application improvement”

Update 2:  Dont panic! My phone took a long time to reboot after the update.  I’d advise leaving it on charge if you’re running low though.
Well that’s disappointing.  As suspected, no Froyo (no surprise) but no DIVX playback.  No 720p video recording.  Only change I’ve spotted so far is that text messages now display the number of messages between a specifc contact (just like it used to on the hero)
I’ll update if I find anything else

Update 2:  Dont panic! My phone took a long time to reboot after the update.  I’d advise leaving it on charge if you’re running low though.

Well that’s disappointing.  As suspected, no Froyo (no surprise) but no DIVX playback.  No 720p video recording.  Only change I’ve spotted so far is that text messages now display the number of messages between a specifc contact (just like it used to on the hero)
I’ll update if I find anything else

Update 3: YouTube app now has a High Quality button

15 Responses to “New European HTC Desire and Legend Over the Air update”

  1. 1 Troll

    Don’t worry, Froyo will be out soon for the Desire. They’ve said end of June, and it’s not like they have been wrong about release dates before.

    Right?

  2. Love the style of this post, up to the minute news direct from your commute! Sorry do hear about your disappointment as I know the HTC community are keenly waiting for this.

  3. it can only be a matter of time before there is wireless connection absolutely everywhere

  4. Maybe I´m wrong, but it look like there is more free RAM, and phone is little bit faster (scrolling is smoother, fox example).

  5. I suspect there is more memory but it’s really hard to tell even though I often check in task manager.

    Linpack seems to show 1 MFLOP processor increase roughly

  6. 6 Jay

    Thanks for the detail and updates.

    I was just wondering if HTC also publishes release notes with any updates they publish. Any idea on this?

    Cheers !!!
    – Jay

    • Unfortunately, I have never seen any specific release notes for any update they provided on the Hero or Desire. Usually they just put something generic like “Update to HTC applications”.

      You’re best bet is keeping an eye on XDA developer threads, people tend to post as they discover more features.

      • 8 Jay

        For what reasons they do not provide release notes? May be they are fixing some gory bugs with such updates which they do not want users to know

        Cheers !!!
        – Jay

    • To be honest, I’m not sure why they don’t do release notes. Maybe, like Apple, they don’t think users care/should care.

      I have to admit, as people that DO care what has been changed we are probably in the minority 🙂

      • 10 Jay

        well I do care as you… i’ve raised a request with HTC to find out if we can get the release notes. Lets see what they have to say…

        Cheers !!!
        – Jay

      • Finally got answer from HTC smart guys on release notes and below is what they have to say for not providing release notes…

        “Thank you for contacting us. In regards to release notes I can help you with that. We can not issue release notes for these updates as each one is different depending on the network branding that has been performed”

        So convincing answer 🙂

        Cheers !!!
        – Jay

  7. Disappointing

  8. I Love the style of this post, up to the minute news direct from your commute! Sorry do hear about your disappointment as I know the HTC community are keenly waiting for this.


  1. 1 New OTA update for European Desire and Legend - Android Forums
  2. 2 Smart Adopter reports Euro HTC Desire and Legend Over the Air update « Ongoing Issues

Leave a Reply

