How to tell Ubuntu Linux has matured

30May10

My new install of Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid Lynx) just surprised me. Now it has been very good at detecting all hardware, it found my wireless drivers after hooking it up via Ethernet briefly. It found my NVIDIA drivers automatically also. To ky surprise it then automatically let me tether to my HTC Desire without any steps at all. All this is nice but is expected it, Ubuntu genuinely gets better every iteration.

But now, I’ve just realised my Webcam works in Skype. This is almost unheard of, Webcam support is notoriously terrible in Linux full stop. I think I’m going to have to do a Lucid review shortly.

5 Responses to “How to tell Ubuntu Linux has matured”

  1. I really look forward to your review. Having used Ubuntu in the past I must say that I like it a lot. To hear that it has progressed so much over time and is acting in a way that I feel all operating systems should when it comes to detecting or connecting hardware, with intelligence. Mac also does this very well, but was somewhat disappointed to hear that it didn’t “just work”, when it came to tethering an HTC Desire.

    • I’ve got a friend checking out tethering on Mac, if it works then maybe we can get you on a Desire 🙂

  2. May be. We shall see after the Apple announcement! HTC is a sure contender for me though!

  3. 4 mukisus

    Congratulations on success of your Ubuntu Lucid Lynx installation!
    Sounds a very good news to me, since I am still using the previous LTS version, Hardy Heron (8.04) which required NVIDIA drivers need to be installed separately and webcam didn’t work.
    Soon will be migrating to Lucid Lynx (10.04) as well. Yay!

  4. 5 Troll

    How to tell Ubuntu Linux has matured:

    It has hair…down there.


Leave a Reply

